Archer VR600 in bridge mode

2024-03-19 11:30:33
Model: Archer VR600  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 0.2.0 0.9.1 v0057.0 Build 160614 Rel.41735n

I have been using my Archer VR600 version 1 for about 7 years. I prefer ethernet connections but accept that it's increasingly useful to have wi-fi at times. With this in mind, I recently bought an TP-Link AXE75 AXE5400 to improve wi-fi coverage and performance. Then I discovered it didn't have a built-in modem!

I've read up lots of threads on forums like this, and tried several times to set up the VR600 in bridge mode, to act as the modem for the AXE75. The VR600 does not play nicely and reverts to PPPoE operations at the slightest excuse. The AXE75 does not show an internet connection, except when the VR600 reverts to PPPoE.

I notice that many threads like this refer to versions 2 and 3 of the VR600, and screen examples look slightly different from mine. Is version 1 capable of acting in bridge mode as a simple modem? If so, advice, please. If not, different advice please!

Options
10 Reply
Re:Archer VR600 in bridge mode
2024-03-19 11:51:03

@hopkins 

VR600 HW v1 supports bridge mode as well. Here's a guide for configuring the bridge mode (pure modem).

If for some reason you can't configure the bridge mode you can still use the device in modem router mode and then connect your AXE75.

If you're concerned about double NAT you can configure DMZ on VR600 to your new AXE75 as a workaround.

If this was helpful click once on the arrow pointing upward. If this solves your issue, click once the star to mark it as a "Recommended Solution".
Options
2024-03-19 15:56:36

@terziyski 

Thank you for your very quick reply.