Moving Omada Software Controller to new computer?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-02-20 02:46:34
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 4.15

Hello:

The question - How do you migrate the Omada software controller (Windows) to a new computer without reconfiguring everything?

What I have tried

I have been using the Omada software controller for a few months but, the computer its on is old and getting replaced. I did a backup of the configuration on old computer. I installed the same Omada software controller on the new computer, did a restore from the backup I made of the config. The old computer software controller not running. When I started the software it knows about the AP's but shows disconnected.

I then went into the old computer and removed management from all access points (in a mesh, one wired, others only Wi-Fi connected). Then I thought I'd see them and be able to adopt from the new software. Nope, stiff disconnected. I was able to go back to the old computer, adopt both the access points and restore service.

I am at a loss.... I am thinking about getting the hardware controller but really would like to solve the simple issue of moving the software from one computer to another.

Thanks,

Kevin.

Options
3 Reply
Re:Moving Omada Software Controller to new computer?
2021-02-23 09:42:56

Dear @Brumey,

What I have tried

I have been using the Omada software controller for a few months but, the computer its on is old and getting replaced. I did a backup of the configuration on old computer. I installed the same Omada software controller on the new computer, did a restore from the backup I made of the config. The old computer software controller not running. When I started the software it knows about the AP's but shows disconnected.