Feedback for my planned network using TP Link products

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-07-03 11:30:49
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting in the community thread, so I hope you forgive me for any errors on my end.

I am no expert on setting up network but I am somehow familiar with some of its concepts.

Right now, my home (3 floors, 4 bed rooms, all concrete walls and bunch of clutters) is currently using a Mesh system (Deco M5 and M4). We've had this set up for years now, but as day goes by I start to notice a degradation in the network performance. Devices are having problems connecting, streaming sometimes becomes blurry/low resolution.

Now I am planning to build a whole new network with an Ethernet Back haul to make sure all decos are receiving stable connection rather than relying on wifi signals.

What I plan is

ISP Router > Archer X55 > TL-SG1008MP Switch > 2 Deco X50 (via POE connection)

> TL-SG1008MP Switch > 2 Deco X50 (via POE connection)

So basically, I would set up the x50 as access points.

However, I am not confident if these set up would be viable and that's what I would like to ask of your feedback.

My concerns would be

1. Given that X50 would be used as APs. Would they stil utilize Wifi 6?
2. Do i have to plug in power adapter of the 2nd Switch even if its connecting via the PoE Switch as well?

3. Would cascading switches affect the overall speed of the network and its APs?

Thank you all!

Options
2 Reply
Re:Feedback for my planned network using TP Link products
2023-07-04 07:27:01

@tonib000y 

Hi, welcome to the community.

There is some information for your reference:

Even in AP mode, Deco AX models would still utilize Wi-Fi 6.