VLAN not working or am I doing it wrong?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-01-12 11:11:08
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: 3.0.3 Build 20181101 Rel.54949(s)

Hello all,

I'm quite new to TP-Link switches and also quite new to VLANs. However, I wanted to dip my toe into the waters of VLAN and decided to learn more about it. However, I really do not understand it, or I'm doing something terribly wrong. The fact that the firmware and GUI has changed, but the manuals haven't, do not make it any easier to understand.

I have a network here with this switch. Port 1 is my computer, port 2 is my printer. Both get an IP from my DHCP server. Everything is standard, so all ports are in untagged VLAN-1 and all is working well.

I created a new VLAN, called DATA_100 (VLAN ID 100). I place port 1 and 2 in there, untagged and remove the printer from VLAN-1. I'm my mind that means the printer is now ONLY untagged in VLAN-100. My personal PC is in both VLAN-1 and VLAN-100, untagged.

However, I can't ping my printer, as soon as I remove it from VLAN-1. But aren't both devices untagged in VLAN-100? Shouldn't they see and therefor be able to ping eachother?

Is something wrong with my switch or am I missing an important step here?

Options
3 Reply
Re:VLAN not working or am I doing it wrong?
2020-01-12 17:00:14 - last edited 2020-01-13 02:26:56

Hi @Aspage,

inside a managed switch there is no untagged traffic at all. If you set a port to untagged, you have to set the Port VLAN ID (PVID), so the switch can assign untagged traffic arriving on this port to the VLAN the port is a member of. Thus, access ports (those are ports to which VLAN-unaware devices are connected) must be in exactly one VLAN, whose ID equals the PVID.