New CPE710 owner - Bridge not an option in Quick Setup

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-10-10 22:59:57 - last edited 2021-10-11 00:42:44
Model: CPE710  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 2.2.1 Build 20201208 Rel. 34943 (4341)

All - I'm very new at this. Bought the CPE710 to use as a powerful range extender to connect two observatories about 100 meters behind our house. Bought it to replace a Netgear AC1200 that works okay over this distance but not good enough for my liking. There is an unobstructed line-of-sight from the wood wall of the house (where the router is) to the wooden structure housing the telescopes and computers that run them.

When I try to set up the CPE710 to give me a strong wireless connection, I'm offered: Access Point, Client, AP Router and AP Client Router. But not Bridge which is what I think I should see and videos on line say that is the function I'm after? I've confirmed my new unit is up-to-date on firmware.

Would REALLY appreciate some guidance here. Thanks in advance!

Stuart

Options
6 Reply
Re:New CPE710 owner - Bridge not an option in Quick Setup
2021-10-11 08:16:38 - last edited 2021-10-11 08:36:35

@Heggie 

Your netgear router should be omnidirectional antenna, 360°, while the CPE710 uses directional antenna, antenna beamwidth is very narrow, only 7° so it's not suitable for wireless coverage, I think you can consider using EAP-Outdoor. but it should be noted that EAP needs wired connection to the front end to expand the network.

Options
2021-10-11 14:25:52