Advice please - extending BT full fibre wi-fi to garden building

2024-03-26 09:58:03 - last edited 2024-03-28 03:53:29
Model: CPE510  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi all, I am a novice on these topics so really need some help and advice please. I have full fibre BT with 3 standard BT w-fi discs. Signal inside the house is fine but I need to extend it to my garden office. Previously I had a lan cable but this is not practical anymore due to a number of reasons. Would the CPE510 be a suitable solution? If yes, do I just need a pair and it connects to my hub or do I need additional hardware?

If this is not the best solution I am open to alternative ideas. I don't want to go overboard on cost as its inly really an issue 2-3 days a week. 

Thanks in advance

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Advice please - extending BT full fibre wi-fi to garden building-Solution
2024-03-28 03:53:15 - last edited 2024-03-28 03:53:29

Hi@Joe1975 

When deploying the CPE products, each pair of CPE should be used in pairs. Each pair of CPE can be considered as the invisible Ethernet connection. And you will also need to connect an access point/WiFi router to the last client CPE since there is only a single Ethernet connection on it.

You may also consider the EAP-Outdoor and EAP indoor to build the mesh. At this scenario, there will be at least 1 EAP-Outdoor to extend the signal to outdoor. The first EAP should be wired to connect to the router via the adapter/switch. And another EAP-Outdoor or indoor EAP will be used to wireless connect to the root EAP. Please note that the controller (such as free software controller) will be required to build the mesh.

If you would rather, please consider approaching the local technical support to get detail recommendation.

Best Regards! >> Omada EAP Firmware Trial Available Here << >> Get the Latest Omada SDN Controller Releases Here << *Try filtering posts on each forum by Label of [Early Access]*
Recommended Solution
Options
4 Reply