vlan problem

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

vlan problem

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
vlan problem
vlan problem
2014-06-24 23:20:58
Region : Netherlands

Model : TL-SG2424

Hardware Version : V1

Firmware Version :

ISP :

I’m new to smart switches and vlans so I’m looking for some advise on how to configure my setup. I have a dedicated wireless AP (an airport extreme) for guest wifi and I want this AP in a separate vlan. The simplified setup is:

Tomato router <—> TL-SG2008 <—> AP

The AP is connected to port 8 of the switch. I want to put the AP in vlan 9. So port 8 is set to vlan 9 untagged. The router has its port set to vlan 9 tagged (and vlan 9 bridged to its own subnet) . But its not working, the AP does not receive dhcp and dns. If I remove vlan 9 from port 8 the AP will work fine.

What’s wrong with this setup?

BTW couldn't find my switch in the model number drop down menu.
Options
7 Reply
Re:vlan problem
2014-06-25 23:37:27
How are you utilizing your router? In other words are you using a different port on the router for each VLAN or are you using one port for multiple VLAN's?
If you are using separate ports on the router for each VLAN then just make sure Port 8 and the port you use to uplink to your router are in VLAN9, with both ports untagged. If you are using one port on the router to connect to the switch but are running multiple VLAN's through it, then you need Port 8 to be in VLAN9 set to untagged (as you have it), and you need the port you are using to uplink to the router also put into VLAN9 as a Tagged port.
Options
2014-06-27 02:32:17

abailey wrote