WA5210G connecting two houses HELP

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2015-07-20 15:21:29
Region : UnitedStates

Model : TL-WA5210G

Hardware Version : V2

Firmware Version :

ISP :

I have an odd ball question that I'm sure someone in this forum can answer.
I'm not a techie, so bare with me as I explain.

I"m sharing a wifi connection with my sister. I have the WA5210G set up as a repeater in my house, picking up her signal.
Nothing is hardwired into my 5210G, it's all wireless.
No issues on the connection as it has be working without a hitch, but here's my issue:

I recently purchased a ROKU and would like to start using it. BUT, ROKU won't connect to the "local network". I found out the router in my sister's house (which I connect to with my WA5210G)
is not set up with WPA or WPA2. The ROKU will not work unless it's WPA or WPA2. If I change the settings on her router, I would have to set up a password. Without getting into details,
she does not want any passwords on her wifi.

So, my question is, can I change the settings on my WA5210G to this WPA or WPA2 without affecting her wifi? (the original source of the internet)
If I can, which mode would I need to the 5210G in to do so?

Can someone give me a non techie explanation of an answer to this?
Options
25 Reply
Re:WA5210G connecting two houses HELP
2015-07-20 17:47:28
Bad luck! My friend...

You can do this easily on other models such as Tl-WA7210N / TL-WA901ND by using "bridge with AP mode", but NOT on TL-WA5210G /TL-WA7510N.....

TL-WA5210G /TL-WA7510N are old brothers that uses traditional bridge mode, which is not available in your case.

Maybe you can convince your sister that her facebook will be hacked if she don't set up WPA2-PSK for the Wi-Fi security..;)
Options
2015-07-20 17:49:52