AP - will this work?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

AP - will this work?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
AP - will this work?
AP - will this work?
2016-02-17 20:32:29
Model :

Hardware Version : Not Clear

Firmware Version :

ISP :

Hi,
I'm a newbie. We have two bungalows (2000sq ft. each) next to each other and a big garden. Tiled wooden roofs and concrete block walls. Each bungalow has ADSL (2 bills) cost $100-150 monthly. Each bungalow has a wireless/modem/router TD-W8961ND. Wireless connection is reaaly bad. Connectio radius < 10ft with 2 obstructing walls.

What I want to achieve is reduce Telecom costs with 1 adsl connection and 1 router giving wireless coverage for the complete area for a radius of <50m. Connections of all user devices, PC, cellfones, TV ... via wireless.

Genned up a little bit and bought the following gear:
Access Point TL-WA7210N
Antenna TP-Link ANT2415D
50cm pigtail
20m ethernet cable.

The antenna will be mounted at about 5m the AP underneath and 20m cable to the PoE and TD-W8961ND router to the adsl connection.

Questions.
1. Is the topology correct
2. Step 3.5 in quick setup - operation mode - should I choose access point or what ?
3. If I mount the antenna on one of the roofs will there be an area "shadowed" directly below it that has no coverage?
4. Should I install a surge protection
5. How much will a 20m connection from the AP to the router hit throughput. What is an acceptable distance for this connection.
6. Will it work????????????

Any recommendations or gochas welcome.

TIA

K
Options
5 Reply
Re:AP - will this work?
2016-02-19 10:30:54
Wireless connection is reaaly bad. Connectio radius < 10ft with 2 obstructing walls.
Obstructions are Wi-Fi killers. Two walls dampen wireless signal a lot.

For your questions: