TP-Link vlan questions

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

TP-Link vlan questions

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
TP-Link vlan questions
TP-Link vlan questions
2018-12-23 12:47:55

Hello,

I want to create vlans for security reasons, but allthough i am professional developer i have no experience on vlans. I have  read the background of vlans and i made some experiments, with no success. In order to debug the problem and develop some familiarity with vlans i built the following lab.

1. One computer connected to port 2, producing some icmp packets
  2. One computer connected to port 1 with wireshark monitoring the traffic
  3. TL-SG2008 as managed switch (the production switch will be T2600G-28MPS, but i cannot experiment on this)
    1. Mirroring both ingress and engress from port 2 to port 1
    2. I created a vlan with id 4
    3. port 2 has  pvid 4
    4. port 2 also is a tagged member of vlan 4

As a result, the icmp packets that monitored has no vlan tag. I understand that something basic is missing to my understanding, but i have no clue what is it.

Any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Options
3 Reply
Re:TP-Link vlan questions
2018-12-24 09:39:45

stathis wrote

Hello,

I want to create vlans for security reasons, but allthough i am professional developer i have no experience on vlans. I have  read the background of vlans and i made some experiments, with no success. In order to debug the problem and develop some familiarity with vlans i built the following lab.

1. One computer connected to port 2, producing some icmp packets
  2. One computer connected to port 1 with wireshark monitoring the traffic
  3. TL-SG2008 as managed switch (the production switch will be T2600G-28MPS, but i cannot experiment on this)
    1. Mirroring both ingress and engress from port 2 to port 1