TP-Link switches worth trying for a business?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-10-16 09:28:01

Hi,

I am not really a network expert, but in the past 12 months I have seen a massive rise of TP-Link deployments. Not the simple desktop switches and DSL-routers, but the managed switches with professional features like trunking, SFPs etc.

I do own one TP-Link switch, mostly out of curiosity, but I do not put any heavy load onto it, so I do not know wether its any good or will fail in a professional setup.

Is TP-Link really in the process of becoming a reliable vendor for enterprise grade equipment or is this just because people are cheap?

Options
8 Reply
Re:TP-Link switches worth trying for a business?
2019-10-17 02:53:55 - last edited 2019-10-17 02:54:36

I am using TP-Link managed switch. They are working perfectly as access layer. But I just used VLAN and layer3 interface and 802.1x. I think TP-Link switch is suitable for small or medium business. 

Options
2019-10-22 22:34:17
Which model are you using? I'm looking at probably an L3 switch for the network I'm managing. I have a bunch of distributed WAP's and I need to set the VLAN on the SSID, so I suspect I'm probably interested in L3 vs L2 which I think only allows you to set the VLAN at the port (meaning two WiFI networks on one WAP couldn't be separated by VLAN and treated differently). -Hugh
Options
2019-10-23 02:14:20

@hughLink 

T2600G-28TS v3. You can separate two wifi network on one AP. But need your AP supports multi-SSID and VLAN. You can refer to the FAQ.

https://www.tp-link.com/en/support/faq/1849/

Options
2019-10-23 09:32:12

@SheldonTrever