Votes

Network For School Hostel

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Votes

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-09-26 01:23:04 - last edited 2021-09-26 01:30:25

Hi. I'm a networking student from a school trying to recommend our management to upgrade the school hostel network. I've designed a network diagram for my suggestion to our school management.

During the Teachers and Parents Association meeting, I've heard that they're suggesting to use 6, 30Mbps WAN connection. Our hostel have 7 blocks. Which means, our hostel is going to have 6 routers, 1 for each block (only 1 hostel block won't have a router). I felt like this is a ridiculous approach by them (idk maybe I'm wrong).

Here's the new network diagram I'm suggesting. The scale in diagram is traced from Google Maps.

Our network are going to be used by around 450 students. So, I'm suggesting to use 2, 800Mbps WAN connections since it could increase the bandwidth, right? I suggesting to give each student only around 5-8Mbps connection (controlled with pfSense).

For the network devices, I'm thinking of using Netgate 5100 for our router/firewall since I like to use pfSense.

For our access points, I believe TP-Link Deco X20 AX1800 could do the work. Each block will have its own access point + one access point for our hostel mosque (green square in the network diagram). It will be powered by wall. I would like to have the mesh feature which each router is connected with Ethernet backhaul for reliability than using WiFi backhaul. These access points have AX WiFi which I think good for a long run.