How to test/learn a fully new Omada configuration in an existing environment

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-02-02 19:20:20 - last edited 2022-02-02 19:21:36
Model: ER7206 (TL-ER7206)  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.01

I am new to Omada (just odered Router, multiple switches and Acesspoints for our network integrating our company and 3 houses) and want to test this full net network parallel to the existing network by connecting the router only to a port of the exsisting network.
It is easy to integrate and test all components except the router but I want to include the router as well in a test setup.
Goal is to test all functionality fully before replacing the current router, switches and AP's in a weekend (and just modify the WAN port)

so far i tried:

Connecting the WAN port to a esxcisting network LAN port (so double NAT) does not work or I misconfigured.

Connecting a LAN port to the current network ==> the OC200 can not integrate the router (network adress is different and changing the er7206 network adress in stand allone and then intergate in the testconfiguration does not work ether (OC200 setup using cloud and Roauter in isolation) 
Who can give me some guidance, your help will be really appreciated!

Options
6 Reply
Re:How to test/learn a fully new Omada configuration in an existing environment
2022-02-02 19:44:36 - last edited 2022-02-02 19:48:08

@jandico 

When I replaced my all in one router with a TP link setup 

I started by just connecting my directly connecting to my pc to the OC controller.

I ensured I had the FW's of the OC and ER605 in my case on my computer before this step.  I figured those should be in the lastest before I even try to get online

so I initialize the OC200 with only my computer attached,  flashed FW