TL-R605 Policy based routing

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-03-09 16:10:19 - last edited 2022-03-14 12:29:59
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: ER605(UN)_V1_1.2.0 Build 20220114

Hi Guy's,

I'm new to this and i'm pretty happy with my new TL-R605. I saw this cool feature that you are able to do some policy routing. This seems pretty cool to me and i want to apply that. How ever i get the sense that this is only for lan to wan trafic. What I need is the router to do some enforced routing. So that i can force clients in a specific ip range to use a second dns server, other then my primairy.

[dns server 1] [dns server 2]

|                       |

[ dhcp clients] [specific ip ]

How can i achieve this? Is that a Nat rule or is it policy routing. i'm a bit lost here

Options
3 Reply
Re:TL-R605 Policy based routing
2022-03-10 08:36:39

Dear @TL-R605

TL-R605 wrote

I'm new to this and i'm pretty happy with my new TL-R605. I saw this cool feature that you are able to do some policy routing. This seems pretty cool to me and i want to apply that. How ever i get the sense that this is only for lan to wan trafic. What I need is the router to do some enforced routing. So that i can force clients in a specific ip range to use a second dns server, other then my primairy.

[dns server 1] [dns server 2]

[ dhcp clients] [specific ip ]

You can try to create multiple VLAN interfaces and then choose to send different DNS servers when assigning IPs to different interfaces.

You can type in your own DNS Server in the corresponding interface.

Best Regards!

Best Regards! >> Omada EAP Firmware Trial Available Here << >> Get the Latest Omada SDN Controller Releases Here << *Try filtering posts on each forum by Label of [Early Access]*
Options