Best practice for updating firmware?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-03-24 20:44:22 - last edited 2022-03-24 21:41:06

Hi I'm new to Omada hardware and have some questions about upgrading the firmware. I believe my hardware is running old versions right now.

Hardware:
Router: ER605 v1.0 [1.1.1 Build 20210723 Rel.64608]

Switch: TL-SG2210P v3.20 [3.20.0 Build 20200730 Rel.32643]

AP: EAP245(Canada) v3.0 [5.0.3 Build 20210708 Rel. 35014]

Controller Software [5.0.30] running in Docker on Ubuntu Server.

Network Diagram:

I'm just wondering what the best practice is for updating the firmware. If I update through the controller portal at 192.168.0.xxx:8043, would it make a difference whether I was wired to the switch or running my laptop over wifi? Should I connect to the switch with a cable for the switch upgrade, then move my laptop so it's directly connected to the router for that upgrade?

I bought both the Router and AP from amazon.ca, but I bought the Switch from the US because I couldn't find it in stock. Is it only the Wireless Access points which have specific CAN/US Firmwares or is that the case with everything? And if so how do I check if my Router is on US or CA firmware (because I don't trust amazon and don't want to brick anything).

Lastly is there any way to automatically update firmwares without enabling cloud access? I don't need remote access when I'm away from home and it seems to me it would be more secure to leave it disabled

Thanks,
Dave

Options
2 Reply
Re:Best practice for updating firmware?
2022-03-25 13:05:00

@daithi

It is generally recommended that the PC running the controller is wired to a LAN network, after that the firmware can be updated in this topology.