ER605 2 ISP Connections, Faster Speeds?

2022-05-09 13:27:40
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.0.1

Hello,

I'm new to Omada, but so far really liking it...  I started out with a few outdoor AP's to extend my WIFI signal,  but now have just added a TL-SG3428X Switch and a ER605 Router...

I currently have a single ISP Connection but it's a 1.5G fiber connection.  So obviously my home setup bottleneck is going to be the 1G connections all over,  which is fine.  But was wondering,  We have a LOT of devices connected and using the internet at any given time,  2 of us Work from home, etc.  So my thinking is that at the moment, we can only utilize a MAX of 1G from the 1.5G Connection,  so what if I connected a second connection from the ER605 to the Fiber gateway,  would that allow the setup to utilize more of the connection then 1G?

Thanks for the help!

Options
5 Reply
Re:ER605 2 ISP Connections, Faster Speeds?
2022-05-10 05:55:30

@Nortron 

That won't work. Tplink router does not support link aggregation on WAN ports.

You will need to wait for a 2.5G WAN port router. I believe I saw somewhere that tplink will release new omada gateway this year and it will support 2.5G/10G ports

Options
2022-05-10 13:49:31

@Somnus 

Hello,  Thanks for the Reply..  Okay,  it won't support Link Aggregation,  but what about load balancing all the traffic over the two 1G connections to the gateway?  Wouldn't that help, and provide better bandwidth to all devices at any given time?  In theory, being able to actually use more then 1G from the gateway?

Options
2022-05-10 17:41:56