Beginner Question | TP-Link Topology

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-07-20 10:20:41
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version:

I’m planing on retiring my Linksys Velop MX5300v1 and going with TP-Link. I do have a couple questions though as I am new to this environment. As a new customer/user, I plan to purchase a TP-Link ER605 and be starting with the following topology:

Cable Modem -> TP-Link ER605 -> ?

I currently have a TL-SG105 and TL-SG1005P and would need to purchase an access point,, but I’m not sure if a controller is need for the access point or if the ER605 can act as a wireless controller. I require to have a 2.4 and 5MHz Main SSID and 2.4 and 5MHz Guest SSID.

Can someone steer me in the correct direction I need to be going in regards to what hardware I need to purchase?

Options
4 Reply
Re:Beginner Question | TP-Link Topology
2022-07-20 17:08:11

@MJ2 

The ER605 does not come with a OMADA controller. Omada devices can run without a controller, but certain features, for example a WiFi mesh, are unfortunately available only with a controller. Buy a good PoE switch that implements VLANs. Your current switches are unmanaged so they can work in a single VLAN only. Your new switch does not need to be a routing switch since the router can handle inter-VLAN routing. If you plan to buy an AP with a 2.5G port, make sure that you also buy a switch with 2.5G ports.

TP-Link has a pretty good video that can guide you through the setup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3-fenfPBv0M

Kris K
Options
2022-07-20 18:28:40 - last edited 2022-07-21 06:11:06