ER7206 - LAN Ports usage

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

ER7206 - LAN Ports usage

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
ER7206 - LAN Ports usage
ER7206 - LAN Ports usage
2022-08-03 13:51:53
Model: ER7206 (TL-ER7206)  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hello!

Sorry, I'm a newbie that bought a lot of TP-Link stuff... I use an ER7206 as router with a fibre-bridge connected to the WAN-Port (so the ER7206 is the "modem"). Works like a charm. Now I have 4 LAN-Ports left on the 7206. So far, so good.

Because I wanted more silent switches (than before) I use 3 TL-SG2210MP and 1 1008. In every tutorial I just see that they use one port of the 7206 for a switch (and all the stuff is connected to that switch) and when creating LANs they check the box for "LAN" at "LAN Interfaces". The others remain unchecked (nothing plugged in). For me (with 4 switches) it would be perfect to plug all switches in the LAN-Ports of the router. Is that ok and is that what they are thought for? Or should i just plug in 1 switch and then connect the other switches to that switch? If I connect it to the router do I have to check all "LAN Interfaces" on every LAN i create (children, guests, parents)?

Background:

1 POE switch is for my 7 APs (all from TP-Link)

1 POE switch is more or less for my Home Automating System (system itself, KNX-Bridge, Cameras, POE Tablets, Intercom,...)

1 POE switch is for all the other things (PC, TVs, AppleTVs, Treadmill,...)

1 switch is for all of my audio hardware that need an network/internet-connection (BeoSound Essence, Linn Majik).