pfSense multiple vlans and a TP Link switch!

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-12-04 21:39:43 - last edited 2022-12-04 21:41:04
Model: TL-SG1016DE  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version:

Hi Everyone

Newbie here with some questions!

I'm wanting toi setup a pfSense router with 3 802.1q vlan's coming out of it... one being the standard lan and two others 20 and 40. How do i pass those to the switch and then assign ports on the switch to specific Vlan's? im just a bit unsure of tagged vs un-tagged etc. Does the cable/port going from the router to the switch need to be tagged with the vlans 20 and 40? if so do i just assign the two vlans to port 16 which i will be using.

thanks and looking forward to some advice

Options
4 Reply
Re:pfSense multiple vlans and a TP Link switch!
2022-12-05 08:19:14

@GrizzlyKiwi 

On the switch, the uplink port(to your pfSene) should be Tagged, and all 3 VLANs should contains this port;

Other ports should be untag, but you need to give them correct PVID.

Options
2022-12-05 08:30:56

@GrizzlyKiwi Assuming your "standard lan" is VLAN ID 1, the switch port linked to your pfSense router will be an up-link trunk.  The trunk port should have a PVID that matches the pfSense PVID or untagged VLAN, this is so the switch can get an IP address in the main LAN.  Generally you should also have the switch trunk port's untagged VLAN match the PVID (there are times these don't match but I don't think you are doing that).  Then VLANs 20 & 40 will be tagged.