How to add Fortigate to network without routing all traffic through it?

3 weeks ago - last edited 3 weeks ago
Model: OC200  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version:

Hi,

I'm relatively new to networiking.

I have device from ISP that is set in Bridge mode.

I have Omada router connected to it.

I have switch connected to Omada router.

I have ACs and other devices connected to this switch.

I have client tha requires VPN connection to their office. They are using FortiGate VPN. But they are routing all traffic through it. I can't request them to change it.

I thought of getting a FortiGate device. Set it up to connect to client's VPN and rout only some traffic through it.

Where should I add this FortiGate device?

I was thinking to connect it's LAN output to WAN input on Omada Router and set it up as second WAN and then route some IP's or Netowrk to it.

But where to connect WAN on FortiGate? Should I connect it to LAN output of Omada Router or Switch? Or will 1 cable connected only to WAN be enough?

Sorry for stupid question. But I didn't really found how to do it. I only found solutions where all trafic goes throush fortigate and it seats between ISP device and router. But I don't want it this way.

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:How to add Fortigate to network without routing all traffic through it?-Solution

Hi @Hooch 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.

Hooch wrote

I have client tha requires VPN connection to their office. They are using FortiGate VPN. But they are routing all traffic through it. I can't request them to change it.

I thought of getting a FortiGate device. Set it up to connect to client's VPN and rout only some traffic through it.

If the VPN server end has determined to route all the traffic, as long as you connect to it, it will affect your network regardless of whatsoever you have configured.

When you select the local networks to apply the VPN tunnel, that's defined and cannot be changed unless the server changes.