Sharing Devices Across VLANs

2024-07-25 19:53:20 - last edited 2024-07-29 02:52:43
Model: OC200  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.16.3 Build 20240620 Rel.81083

I am currently redoing my home/home office network. My setup is slightly unusual in that the WAN entrance is at an outbuilding then distributed to another outbuilding and then to the house.

Our previous residence was a simple wired LAN. We now live in a rural area on 3.5 acres of wooded property. I am a semi-retired general contractor who still does part time consulting. I am not an IT person so hopefully this makes sense.

Current equipment I have installed:

Outbuilding #1(Workshop); WAN, ER650p, OC200, SG2008p, EAP 610 (at far end of building), EAP625 (at exterior front of building to cover outdoors to rear of house), EAP-211 wireless bridge to outbuilding #2.

Outbuilding #2 (Office); EAP-211 wireless bridge from Outbuilding #1, 2x SG2008p. The office is a wired LAN.

House: EAP625 on the exterior front direct wired to the office. This covers the front part of the house and property.

#1. I have configured 5 networks. The main LAN which is my office and 4 VLANs (Shop, Home, Shared, Guest). Everything is setup, connected, updated and working properly.

Where I am struggling now is setting up the ACLs and device sharing.

I want to prohibit the Home, Shared and Shop VLANS from accessing the Office LAN but the Printer is in the Office, and I want the Home and Shop VLANs to be able to access it.

Below is what I could find online by creating an IP Group for the printer.

ACL 1: [Policy: Allow], [Protocols: All], [Source: IP Group- OfficePrinter (Printer has static IP)], [Destination: Network – Home, Shared Shop], [ACL Binding – Ports, All Ports].

ACL 2: [Policy: Deny], [Protocols: All], [Source: Network – Home/Shop/Shared], [Destination: Network – Office], [ACL Binding – Ports, All Ports].

Unfortunately, this does not work. If I turn off ACL 2, I can configure IPP printers across the VLANs.