Load balancing constantly turning off one of the wans.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-11-25 13:57:48 - last edited 2021-04-19 11:42:39
Model: TL-R470T+  
Hardware Version: V6
Firmware Version: 6.0.2

I work as an I.T at a school and recently we bought a load balance to use two separete wans to keep the internet on at all times, the problem started as soon as I turned on the device because the IP used by tp-link was the same as the one used on the moldem 1, after changing the Ip to the load balance I could finally connect everything, but after all the instalation I did some tests on the network and I could check that My connection kept changing from 80 Mb (that is the result if everything worked out) and 35Mb ( that is the connection with only the Wan 2....

I already changed the Ip and dns to the wan 1 and also tested as Dynamic Ip, and nothing... I am out of Ideas because I teste the connection with the moldem 1 directly to the computer and it works just fine, but as soon as I connect to the load balance it just dont work....

Wan 1 is a 140Mb.

Wan 2 is a 50Mb.

Could it be because the Router cant support a connection with more than 100 Mb?

Options
2 Reply
Re:Load balancing constantly turning off one of the wans.
2019-11-26 05:27:58 - last edited 2021-04-19 11:42:39

@Filipe_I.T Do you tick "enable load balance" ? If you combine this tick with failover setting, highly likely it will shut down backup wan if primay wan useable.

Options
Re:Load balancing constantly turning off one of the wans.
2019-11-26 06:43:57 - last edited 2021-04-19 11:42:39

@Filipe_I.T 

First of all, this router has 100Mbps ports, so answer for one of your questions is "No, it doesn't support speed more then 100M on one port".