EAP245 with multiple SSID mesh

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-11-28 04:34:27
Model: EAP245  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: 2.21.0

Hi All,

New to the Forums.

My EAP245 is directly connected to my Cisco switch with 3 vlan's per each SSID (Main, Guest & IOT).

I live in an old brick home, signal isn't great on the second level of the house. I'm planning to purchase a second EAP245 for mesh setup. I would like to know if i can expand all three SSID's on the second EAP245. Or is it just one SSID that i can expand? I'm very new to mesh setup.

Thanks

Vithy

Options
6 Reply
Re:EAP245 with multiple SSID mesh
2020-11-30 09:12:02

Dear @Vithy,

I live in an old brick home, signal isn't great on the second level of the house. I'm planning to purchase a second EAP245 for mesh setup. I would like to know if i can expand all three SSID's on the second EAP245. Or is it just one SSID that i can expand? I'm very new to mesh setup.

You can expand all three SSIDs.

However, here are two points you may pay attention to.

• You need to install the Omada Software Controller or purchase the OC200/OC300 to configure and use the Mesh network.
  • The second EAP needs to be within the wireless coverage of the first EAP and gets good signal strength to maintain a stable connection.

For more about the EAP Mesh network, read this FAQ, https://www.tp-link.com/support/faq/2283/

>> Omada EAP Firmware Trial Available Here << *Try filtering posts on each forum by Label of [Early Access]*
Options
2020-11-30 17:42:54 - last edited 2020-11-30 17:56:57

Hi @Vithy,

Your best bet would be to run Ethernet to the second EAP.  Or use a MOCA bridge if COAX is available.  Some have also used PowerLine adapters.