TL-R605 for connection to Subscription VPN using Omada Controller

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-01-31 23:35:57 - last edited 2021-01-31 23:37:04
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.0 Build 20200930 Rel.36519

Hello all,

I would like to configure my TL-R605 such that it acts as a VPN client for all devices on the network, or if possible, by VLAN. I am presently using the TL-R605 as a router to connect to my ISP using PPPoE. I am a beginner at VPN technologies and midly familiar with network configuration.

I am connecting to Private Internet Access and would like to place all my devices on the VPN so that it always connected for all VLANs (at this time).

I've downloaded the OpenVPN files from their site, uploaded/imported them to the VPN section as a Client-to-Site VPN (VPN Client - OpenVPN). The port is TCP 502.

I am at a loss of what I should be doing next. My public IP is still that from my ISP, so it doesn't look like the VPN is connected. In fact, I am not sure how this would work or if I would need to physically have another TL-R605 dedicated to VPN connections (as opposed to doubling as a connection to my ISP).

Am I doing something wrong or are there other steps that I should be following?

Options
6 Reply
Re:TL-R605 for connection to Subscription VPN using Omada Controller
2021-02-05 09:38:42

Dear @Natrodivdose,

I am at a loss of what I should be doing next. My public IP is still that from my ISP, so it doesn't look like the VPN is connected. In fact, I am not sure how this would work or if I would need to physically have another TL-R605 dedicated to VPN connections (as opposed to doubling as a connection to my ISP).

Here is a setup video for your reference.