Setting up home Access Points

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-02-07 23:56:58 - last edited 2021-02-08 01:49:34
Model: Archer VR900  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 0.1.0 0.9.1 v0069.0 Build 160721 Rel.66177n

Hey guys

Sorry if you have already answered these questions but I couldnt find anything that I could understand as I am a beginner.

I have a TP Link Archer VR900 dsl router/modem which works great in the lounge but I have always had issues with wifi coverage in the two bedrooms.
I installed some powerline adapters which do an OK job but can be a bit unreliable and the signal can fluctuate. I have tried changing channels etc.

Anyway, I am looking at installing three TP-Link EAP115(UK) N300 Wireless Ceiling Mounted Access Points in the house.
I would like to put the router and necessary PoE switch in a cupboard.

I have a few questions:

Can I switch off wifi on the router and remove the anennae? 

I was looking at this PoE switch ... TL-SG1008P V4 ... will this be adequate?
Is there one piece of equipment that can do the work of both the router and the PoE switch?

I have also seen talk of a controller ... do I need one as well as the router and switch? (I am not sure what a controller does)

Thanks in advance

Paul

Options
3 Reply
Re:Setting up home Access Points
2021-02-10 18:15:49

@PaulieP 

Hey Paul

Hopefully some tof these answers will help!  

First off I would recommend going for the AP225v3  and not the 115    -  The 115 is nearly if not end of life, the EAP225 would serve you better for longer.

Can I switch off wifi on the router and remove the anennae? 

Yes you can indeed and its likely recommended you do this when running alongside APs.    You dont need to remove the aerials unless you wnat too, disbling the radio should suffice