EAP225 Outdoor access point - want to change password

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-03-24 18:21:39 - last edited 2021-03-25 01:01:14
Model: EAP225-Outdoor  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi, newbie here I'm afraid. I've just put up an EAP225 outdoor access point on a chimney on our farmhouse in order to get wifi a reasonable distance outside. I'm no IT expert but have somehow managed to get it up and running successfully (no thanks to the included instructions). The EAP is connected to my existing router via a CAT5 ethernet cable. I was expecting that the EAP would simply clone (if that's the right word?) the existing wifi network. However that hasn't happened and I have 2 additional wifi networks:

TP-link 2.4

adn

TP-link 2.4 5G

This isn't a major issue as I can cope with that. The network names are slightly different than what I've posted here obvs but one has 5G at the end and the other doesn't. Aside from the fact that I haven't a clue what the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz parts do in practice (I'm not currently bothered about acquainting myself with this at the moment or why there is a 5G option), what I want to do is change the network password for the EAP access point.

When I got it up and running the Omada app on my phone asked me to enter a password of my choosing for the EAP. I put one of my usual passwords in and bingo the wifi was working. Great I thought.

However, I want the wifi to be available for anyone working on my farm. But the issue is I don't want them knowing one of my usual passwords, so I want to change it to one that they will all easily remember.