Single EAP225 in use at home. Want to add another with fast roaming query

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-07-14 11:29:30 - last edited 2021-07-26 14:57:20
Model: EAP225  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi All

Total newbie here so my apologies if this sounds like a stupid question.

I currently have 1 x EAP225 at home that I configured using an app on my iPhone.  The EAP is powered by the POE injector supplied in the box and then cabled to my home ISP router which is downstairs.  The EAP is located in my upstairs hallway and I have it temporarily fixed the the wall and not ceiling (read it can be wall or ceiling mounted ??) and so far my old "dead spots" are now gone - good times.

I want to add another EAP downstairs as some areas are not as strong as I would like them (running off ISP wifi) but I wondered as I do not have the physical cloud controller would I still be able to set up fast roaming using the app or via an internet browser ?.  I know you can download the cloud controller software to a PC which I can if need be if this is required for the fast roaming set-up.

Thanks in advance

Ben   

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Single EAP225 in use at home. Want to add another with fast roaming query-Solution
2021-07-14 14:01:39 - last edited 2021-07-26 14:57:20

@Benje 

Hey

The ability to fast roam is not a feature that is managed by the Access Points, you would indeed need a controller to enable this.  Something like the OC200 might be an option for you if you don't have a spare PC or device to run the software controller.