Omada - Displayed Statistics query/question

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-07-29 08:29:35 - last edited 2021-07-29 10:18:54
Model: OC200  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 4.3.5

Morning all

Quick question as I am new to the Omada range.

My setup consists on 1 x OC200, 1 POE switch and 2 x EAP225 (only one currently installed) and is in my home.

I set up the controller last night and things seem to be working all ok but looking at the statistics it shows the following .

Is it normal to see all these dropped packets and errors ?

Thanks in advance

Ben

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Omada - Displayed Statistics query/question-Solution
2021-07-29 08:49:25 - last edited 2021-07-29 10:18:54

@Benje 

Hey Ben

Yeah this is perfectly normal and will happen on all forms of WiFi communication. 

It could be due to a number of factors including, but not limited to...

1. Interference from Non Wifi (Radar etc)
  2. Interference from another WiFi on same channel
  3. Refraction of the signal
  4. Delay in the signal at reciever
  5. 2 or more devices trying to transmit at once and collision

Basically a LOT.. on most home grade hardware you wont even know it happening and it likely wont be logged at all, Omada being business grade does log this and alert you too it.

Generally this will happen and nothing you can do to stop it.  However the volume of packets you are seeing dropped (585) I wouldn't even bother investigating it!    Its accepted that anything below 20% drop / retry rate is GOOD, when you pass 30% it could be improved, at 40%+ you should be investigating, at a guess you are 5% tops and nothing to worry about.  There is a graph on the controller you can add to show this (below)

If it is an issue, try changing channels