Is a DHCP router essential to setup the AC1200 EAP ?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-03-24 01:42:45
Model: EAP230-Wall  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: Don't know

Hi Folks

Preparing to setup the tp-link AC1200 for the 1st time. Didn't know a PoE switch was essential but will get one !

I'm not sure if I can get access to my router as Sky/Now don't put the IP address on the device.  Is allocation of an IP to the EAP essential to make it work ?

Really appreciate any help you can provide.... I'm new to this !!

Options
5 Reply
Re:Is a DHCP router essential to setup the AC1200 EAP ?
2023-03-24 04:34:51

@neillybeg 

its easier to have active internet (through ethernet) while the setup process is working. you will need a router to connect to at least the first access point by wire to set up the rest. your router should assign the access point an IP address. you dont need to have PoE, you can use the enclosed power cable to power the AP.

Options
2023-03-27 06:54:37

@neillybeg 

A POE switch could be necessary, I didn't see any words that the EAP can be powered by the power cable.

See the Spec:

Just striving to develop myself while helping others.
Options
2023-03-27 18:31:29

@neillybeg the wall EAP's are only powered by PoE i believe so a PoE switch would ne necessary to power it.

Options
2023-03-27 23:15:56

@Virgo @dictoresno 

Thanks both for your replies

neillybeg wrote

Hi Folks

Preparing to setup the tp-link AC1200 for the 1st time. Didn't know a PoE switch was essential but will get one !

I'm not sure if I can get access to my router as Sky/Now don't put the IP address on the device.  Is allocation of an IP to the EAP essential to make it work ?

Really appreciate any help you can provide.... I'm new to this !!