IP Phone will not connect through the ER605

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-04-28 15:50:12
Tags: #IP Phone
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.1.1 Build 20230115 Rel.77774

I am new to the company, and nobody here knew the admin password for the ER605 router, and we needed to make some config changes. So I factory reset the router and got access to it. But now, none of our IP Phones will connect to our service provider. I have turned off SIP ALG as recommended by the service provider. I have created a firewall Access Control rule to allow the traffic on port 5060 and 5061 from any to any. But the phones will not connect anymore. I assume the previous guy here had some sort of config setting on the router to allow the phones to work, but I can't figure out what. Any help would be appreciated.

Options
20 Reply
Re:IP Phone will not connect through the ER605
2023-04-28 21:57:01

@bm3 

More likely he had the phones on their own VLAN.  Are they still getting IPs?

<< Paying it forward, one juicy problem at a time... >>
Options
2023-05-01 20:43:48

@d0ugmac1 Hi. Thanks for your reply.

They are getting IP addresses. I can connect to them via the web interface. In fact, I was even able to have the phones automatically re-provisioned from my service provider, but they just will not connect to the SIP server. They just say "No Service".

As for a separate VLAN, I don't believe so because prior to the router reset, the phones were getting IPs on our regular LAN segment. I don't believe they were using any VLANs here.

Options
2023-05-01 21:11:04

@bm3