Need help understanding IoT network and isolation

2023-06-16 18:59:35 - last edited 2023-07-27 10:24:52
Tags: #IoT Network
Model: Archer BE800  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi all, I'm new to TP-Link devices. I'm have some difficulty understanding the connectability between devices whether they are in a regular network or an IoT network, and whether they are isolated or not.

The issue that brought me to this question is that I just got my BE800 and added all my Amazon Echo speakers (Alexa) to the IoT Wi-Fi. After that, I found my previous set for stereo pairs no longer works.

Stereo pair is basically using two identical Echo speakers for left / right channel respective to create a true stereo effect, sync between the two speakers should be through LAN, so they are required to be in the same network.

From what I understood, IoT network is not the same thing as guest Wi-Fi, which disallows communication between devices in the network, is it correct? If so, I couldn't figure out why my Echo speakers failed to sync with each other.

In what I've tested, when two devices are both in IoT Wi-Fi, they can ping each other sometimes, but sometimes they cannot. If I put them in the "isolated devices" list, they are unable to communicate anymore.

This is another point that confused me. I read that isolated devices should still be able to link to other isolated devices, but it happens not to be the case in my test.

The only successful connection is from an un-isolated device in IoT network to one in the regular network.

It's greatly appreciated if someone can help me understand how these devices / networks communicate, or share their config successfully setup the Echo speakers in the IoT network. Thanks in advance!

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Need help understanding IoT network and isolation -Solution
2023-06-28 09:57:38 - last edited 2023-07-27 10:24:52

@AkazaRenn 

Hi, thank you very much for posting on TP-Link Community.