Setting up new home network

2023-12-25 11:41:48 - last edited 2024-01-18 14:09:02
Model: OC200   TL-SG3210XHP-M2  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hey guys,

Im thinking about setting up a new home network (please view picture below for current set-up idea).

I would like to create a separate VLAN for all incoming IoT devices. 

One problem with the smart switch I current have (TP-Link TL-SG3210XHP-M2) is that the device is making way too much noise (it's placed in meter cupboard near front door).

Even when fan speed is on normal im hearing constant zooming sound, it even goes through the wall (sound reaches even in living door and kitchen with closed doors).

I'm also kinda new in the configuration of all this stuff, so would like to ask you guys some advice.

Currently what I have in possession: 
- TP-Link TL-SG3210XHP-M2 (Can still return this one and thinking to replace it with smaller fanless switches)

- OC200 controller

- 2x EAP683 AP 

What I still have to get:
- Router with good firewall option (thinking about the ER707-M2)

- New switches that are fanless (of which 1 should be managable to set up VLAN for IoT devices)?

- Maybe another AP (if I need to set up a different one after the managable switch as you can see in the overview below)?

Questions:

1) Is the set-up below in order? Or would you guys advice to do it in a different way?
2) Someone told me I needed a managable smart switch after my router to be able to set up separate VLAN for IoT, is this true?

3) Do I need an aditional AP after the manageble switch to get a separate network for the IoT? Or can I use the 2x AP 's that are already there? 
4) I have seen a lot of complains about the noise of TP-Link TL-SG3210XHP-M2 (can the fan of this device be easily replaced by someone that has never done this before)?

Thanks in advance. 

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Setting up new home network-Solution
2024-01-08 14:56:53 - last edited 2024-01-18 14:09:02

@Nvb2 

Regarding question 1: