CPE520 Setup Signal Strength

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2016-12-01 16:19:26
Model :

Hardware Version :

Firmware Version :

ISP :

Hi all

Please excuse anything I do wrong as I am a newbie and have never posted on any forum before
I am assisting a friend on a remote cattle station in outback Australia and have an issue with setup of a PtP connection with 2 CPE520’s
Before embarking on this project I read this forum for 3 months and believe I now have a basic understanding of what is required to setup the link over 6.4km
I have a basic-good understanding of networking etc
I understand the Fresnel zone and at 6.5Km the required additional height to mount the CPE520’s needs to be approx. 0.5-0.75 metres – assuming flat ground
The AP was mounted on a purpose built bracket on top of a shed in the homestead compound at approx. 9 metres above the ground (Point A)
As an initial test I set up the client at 1km (at 2 metres high) with direct Line of Sight
It connected after the survey and I locked onto the AP with an excellent signal strength after adjusting the distance and power parameters etc
I then moved the client to the 6.4km site
It was attached to another purpose built bracket mounted on an old windmill structure at approx. 4.5 metres high (Point B)
Alignment to the AP was made using GPS bearings – I am very confident with the alignment
After setting the distance at 110% (per documentation) when I surveyed the AP I got a signal within 5 seconds and locked onto the AP
I then tried to improve the signal by altering power / channel etc
No matter what I tired I could not improve the signal strength
I have attached a Altitude Map from Google Earth Pro of the topology between the 2 sites
Note Point A is at 85m + 9m mounting = 94m
Point B is at 90M +4.5M mounting = 94.5m