Basic WiFi Router Recommendation?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-06-24 10:20:28 - last edited 2019-06-30 18:34:15

Hello,

I believe my old Netgear WGR614 v9 802.11g router is on its way out. I've been using it for the past 7-8 years. I'd like to replace it with a basic router that offers stability and good signal strength.

My ISP is Spectrum (I'm located in WI) and I have standard internet, nothing upgraded or fancy. I bought a Motorola SB6141 back in the Time Warner days and I've been using this cable modem for the past five years.mobdro

I live in a 1200 sq ft, 2-bedroom, single story condo in a multi unit building. At most, I have one or two Windows laptops and one or two Android smartphones that connect to the router simultaneously. I have a 2nd-gen Google Chromecast as well which I use sparingly. I don't use the wired network ports on the back of the router. Home internet is used for basic web surfing, e-mail, YouTube, etc. No 4K video streaming or gaming whatsoever, so my needs are pretty modest. https://pnrstatus.vip/

I am looking to buy a router from a local brick and mortar store, e.g. Target, WalMart, or Best Buy. I prefer Target since their return policy is a bit more flexible, 30 days as opposed to 15 days for WalMart and Best Buy.https://sarkariresult.onl/

All three stores sell the usual brands, including Netgear, Linksys, and TP Link. I'll certainly avoid the Netgear 802.11n models that are still on the shelves. I could get an TP Link AC router for as little as $35, but of course I'll spend more if there's good reason for me to do so. There's an assortment of Linksys, Netgear, and TP Link routers that sell for between $50-80. I was hoping not to spend more than that, but I can if it means that I'll get a significantly better router.