Archer A2300 - Firewall opening ports w/o authorization

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-12-02 15:59:25 - last edited 2019-12-02 16:07:10
Model: Archer A2300  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 2.0.2 20180123 73741

Hey guys,

TL:DR - This morning, I noticed that my Archer A2300 had opened/forwarded a single port to an internal server without my authorization. The logs give no indication of this ever happening. A reboot of the router had no effect. Disabling port forwarding (destined for another port/machine), then re-enabling it, seems to have fixed the issue.

Longer version - I have been using an Archer A2300 on one of my networks for about two years now. The network in question is connected to a small virtualized lab hosting a handful of virtual machines, along with some Docker containers which host a number of services for internal use.

The only port I have explicitly open/forwarded on the A2300 is 1195/udp, which forwards internally to 10.10.10.5 on port 1195. This is a VPN server and serves as the only means of accessing my internal services while working remotely. There are currently no machines residing in the DMZ and no other ports have been explicitly opened or forwarded. Remote management and all other unneeded/insecure services have been disabled.