newbie here in the UK, what do I need to know about DECO (the newer version M4 Whole House)

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

newbie here in the UK, what do I need to know about DECO (the newer version M4 Whole House)

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-08-12 12:17:33

Hi there, so i'm looking at the M4 system, but can't seem to find the idiots guide to how to inslall/set up.

among the questions:

one assumes that they'll all need power?

I think you have to set one up near the router (I have a BT smart hub 6)?  do I connect with an ethernet cable direct to the router?

I have a limited Cat 5 network in the house with a network switch, so can I connect the two slaves to outlets on that network ie via ethernet cables?

if I don't use the network, do I connect wirelessly?

lots of talk re access point mode, what mode would I want, just to stabilise and boost the wifi in the house?

so I think the set up would be:

incoming cable to router (should I upgrade to a tp link router first?)

cable from router to primary deco box

connect to network switch box

connect slaves to network outlet points

is that it?

many thanks for anyone who can help me.

Options
2 Reply
Re:newbie here in the UK, what do I need to know about DECO (the newer version M4 Whole House)
2020-08-17 13:01:44 - last edited 2020-08-17 13:02:44

j4snh wrote

Hi there, so i'm looking at the M4 system, but can't seem to find the idiots guide to how to inslall/set up.

among the questions:

one assumes that they'll all need power?  Yes, each unit requires a normal 3 pin outlet.

I think you have to set one up near the router (I have a BT smart hub 6)?  do I connect with an ethernet cable direct to the router? Yes you do connect to an ethernet port.