Setting up VLANs on my Omada Hardware

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-12-13 18:15:58 - last edited 2020-12-15 03:33:50

I am relatively new to using Omada hardware and also learning network setup in parallel.  I have been trying to leverage articles and posts out there but not exactly finding what I am looking for.  This isn't a business set-up but a reasonably advanced home set-up.  Here is the hardware I have:

- TL-SG2428P v1.0 (main managed switch in my basement)

- TL-SG2008P v1.0 (a remote managed switch in my attic connected to the switch above)

- EAP245(US) v3.0 (2nd floor access point)

- EAP225(US) v3.0 (main floor access point)

- OC200 controller connected to the TL-SG2428P directly

- I don't have an Omada gateway/ router yet, using another TP-Link Archer router assigning most of the IP addresses

Additional Context:

- I have ~15 devices connected to the switches via cat5e cables (e.g. desktop, NAS, cameras) and about 20 devices that regularly connect to my Wi-Fi (non-guest) (e.g. iPads, phones, echos)

- I have a guest network enabled for devices that come to our home but aren't ours so they can get internet but can't access other network devices

The set-up and software are generally pretty good so far to work with but now trying to do a few more advanced things for security/ efficieny reasons on the network.  The main thing I am trying to do is largely separate away wired and wireless devices that basically just need the internet and prevent them being a future vulnerability on the network and thought VLANs would be a good idea.

What I was thinking was that I would basically create 2-3 VLANs:

- VLAN MGMT - basically my desktop to protect away from other devices that should never access it as it probably has the most sensitive info