Archer C80 Bandwidth Control

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-04-06 10:18:48
Model: Archer C80  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.5.3 Build 210128 Rel.64503n(5553)

I just received my Archer C80 an hour ago and I am very disappointed as it doesn't have Bandwidth control. I've been using the TL-WR841HP v2 for the past 5 years or so, and apparently it has been acting up lately, the reason why I bought this new Archer C80. Unfortunately, I never thought that Archer C80 was not equipped with Bandwidth Control because it was a "new" router, which is why I didn't feel the need to make further research. 

Apparently, I am living in a "third-world country" in which internet is very expensive, means I do not have a fast internet connection. Bandwidth control is very essential for me because it fixes bufferbloat when other devices are streaming, downloading or browsing. Now, I am already experiencing large ping spikes when gaming.

Hopefully, in the next firmware update the Archer C80 will be equipping Bandwidth control. 

Options
6 Reply
Re:Archer C80 Bandwidth Control
2021-04-06 13:41:51

@JustR Hello. My C80 (Archer C80(EU)_V1_210128) when not set in Access Point mode but Router mode, has bandwidth control under Advanced \ QoS

It is a prioritization of devices

Options
2021-04-06 14:18:12

@SamuelV If you try to do speedtest while QoS is enabled, the speed won't be limited. I think QoS and Bandwidth Control are different, I don't really see the effectiveness of QoS in terms of fixing bufferbloat. 

Options
2021-04-06 14:46:31

@JustR i better understand, thanks. In tplink's products, QoS will limit the amount of bandwidth allocated to devices when the amount you entered is reached. And will give a priority to the devices you've designed to be prioritized.