Setting up wifi in new room

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-08-17 15:46:25

Good morning,

I am not an expert on internet connectivity. We have wireless internet in our two story home (set up by a third party); however there are a number of walls that block the signal to certain areas of the house resulting in poor signal, as well as no signal at all.

To combat this, we have a wifi extender downstairs. From my understanding the internet is connecting from the primary router to this extender through the electrical current permeating throughout the house. However the range of this extender does not connect to all of the rooms downstairs. Therefore we have a smaller extender in another room downstairs to help boost the signal.

I am not really happy with the current set up because we constantly have to change wifi networks whenever moving from upstairs to downstairs and between the two wifi extenders downstairs to get the best signal. It would be ideal to have just one wifi network without the need to change between three different names.

In addition to this, we have recently added two rooms to our house one upstairs and one downstairs and no internet reaches these rooms.

I would be grateful if someone could advise me as to how to:

(1) provide internet to the newly created rooms (hopefully with as much speed as possible to prevent slow internet browsing)

(2) help me to create a situation whereby the entire house is connected by one internet network and not having to change everytime I enter a different room.