Configure subnetworks between main router and deco mesh

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-09-17 19:36:50 - last edited 2021-09-18 03:50:53
Model: Deco M4  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi all,

I'm having trouble connecting devices that are on my main network (managed by my router) and devices that are connected to the mesh network (for example my printer)

If I remember a bit of network when I studied I should be able to define the submasks in either my main router or in the mesh network to allow the devices to see each other but somehow I cannot find that setting in either my main router or the mesh configurations. Can someone help me?

Am I misunderstanding something?

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Configure subnetworks between main router and deco mesh-Solution
2021-09-18 00:49:26 - last edited 2021-09-18 03:50:53

@cstmgl 

If you have devices connected to main router, it makes sense to switch Deco mesh to Access Point mode. In that mode, main router manages the whole network, Deco mesh only provides WiFi signal.

In Access Point mode devices will see and communicate with each other regardless of where they are connected in your home network.

This is where configuration setting is in Deco app:

Recommended Solution
Options
4 Reply
Re:Configure subnetworks between main router and deco mesh-Solution
2021-09-18 00:49:26 - last edited 2021-09-18 03:50:53

@cstmgl 

If you have devices connected to main router, it makes sense to switch Deco mesh to Access Point mode. In that mode, main router manages the whole network, Deco mesh only provides WiFi signal.

In Access Point mode devices will see and communicate with each other regardless of where they are connected in your home network.

This is where configuration setting is in Deco app:

Recommended Solution