Deco solution for pre wired house

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-03-06 13:39:53

I'm new to the whole Deco mesh world so please excuse any ignorance & my goal is to maximise my wifi performance for mobile devices .

I live in a 3 story house  which is prewired with a cisco G/b large network switch feeding every room in my house.

my question is because of the cat6 pre wiring , am I better having a larger quantity of one of the lower hierarchy of  decos rather than for example 2 x X90 decos ?

my router currently sits in the garage which is on one side of my house.

Options
7 Reply
Re:Deco solution for pre wired house
2022-03-06 15:20:54 - last edited 2022-03-06 16:57:25

@Thackers 

If every WiFi mesh unit is wired, it makes sense to acquire more lower hierarchy units. That is applicable to Deco and to any other WiFi mesh brand that allows to wire units.

More wired WiFi units you have, better WiFi coverage you'll get. Also, there is network resiliency: if you lose one WiFi mesh unit out of many due to hardware failure, you lose little of WiFi coverage. If, on the other hand, you have just two X90 units and one fails, you lose 50% of WiFi coverage until you can replace failed unit.

If you plan to have 500Mbps Internet soon, I would recommend Deco X20 or X60 models. In a year or two you might upgrade to gigabit, and only Deco X-series can provide WiFi speeds closer to that, on WiFi 6.

Deco M5 can deliver 450Mbps maximum on a good day, with averages close to 300Mbps. Wired Deco M9 can do better and could deliver maximum of 600-650Mbps with averages of 350-450Mbps - but, at least where I live, M9 costs same as X20, so makes sense to go with X20 instead.