Weird and sudden decrease in speed using EAP225-Outdoor V1

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-09-10 02:26:25 - last edited 2022-09-13 09:32:24
Model: EAP225-Outdoor  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 5.0.0 Build 20200918 Rel. 58628

I've been using my EAP225 outdoor for about 2+ years, and recently I bumped into this issue where the Access Point speed is weirdly "capped/limited" to 9Mbps download and decreased upload to >1Mbps and sometimes FAILING. I hooked up the AP to my main GPON/Router with 100Mbps speed. I tried to connect to my main router and found no issue (I can hit the 100+Mbps speed), also checked its configuration. To resolve the issue, i need to FULLY RESET the EAP225 Outdoor device which is really a pain in the a** since i need to setup everything again.

At first, I thought it was because of the LAN cable. I replaced it with a new CAT6, but the issue still persists. I hope someone could shed the light on this if this is a software or hardware issue. If this is the latter I'll be having second thoughts on buying the same brand again, I'll be happy to hear some recommendations preferably an access point/router with good signal even behind wall, wide coverage, and stability for gaming. Thank you and have a nice day!

To illustrate my setup at home:

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:Weird and sudden decrease in speed using EAP225-Outdoor V1-Solution
2022-09-13 09:32:17 - last edited 2022-09-13 09:32:24

@Philbert 

I think I found out the issue. Silly me haha!

Just went out troubleshooting the AP, some weird stuff happened. I realized that the LAN cable from the PoE adapter to the AP was fresh/newly replaced, but I missed out replacing the LAN cable from the PoE adapter to the router/CPE.