Deco M9 Wifi Extended Range for Outdoors Help

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-06-02 08:01:56
Model: Deco M9 Plus  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: 1.6.1

Hello First Post! I am a complete novice with networks sorry!

I have wifi 6 528mb internet with 2x Deco M9 Plus discs. I have 1 disc plugged into the Shell internet router which is located downstairs but under the stairs, then the 2nd disc is on the middle floor in the office used as a hard wired internet to the PC and laptop which then also gives the top floor wifi with no problem.

The issue I am having is the wifi signal downstairs isn't great, the ring doorbell struggles to get decent signal despite only being 10m away from the router. There is also no wifi signal outside in the garden to the front or the back.

My question is, how do i get a decent signal outside to the ring doorbell and the garden?

It seems a waste of a disc to be sat plugged into the router downstairs, is there a way i can unplug the Deco disc under the stairs which is plugged into the router, and have this in the kitchen or lounge? This  should give stronger signal? Or do i need another M9 disc? Or some kind of extender, but I have had a few of these in the past and they don't seem to work as well as the the Deco M9 system which is the main reason for investing in the Deco M9.

Might seem a stupid question, sorry! 

Thanks in advance :)

Dan

Options
3 Reply
Re:Deco M9 Wifi Extended Range for Outdoors Help
2023-06-02 12:47:56

@DeeBee86 

You can move Main Deco away from the router, as long as Main Deco stays connected with Ethernet cable to router.  Sorry, that's the requirement for Main Deco.