ER605 Questions

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

ER605 Questions

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
ER605 Questions
ER605 Questions
2023-08-07 20:37:29
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Considering purchasing an ER605 to use as a gateway to my home network to add support for inbound VPN.  I'm an IT professional with an above average practical knowledge fo networking.  I'm not a network engineer... 

- I think I've determined that OMADA is just a softare based management solution that can control many business class devices similarly to the Tether solution I've used on home networking products.  Correct? 

- MY ISP requires establishing a PPPoE connection.  That's a VPN connection to them.  Can I also support inbound VPN from external networks?   Are there any limitations associated with that sort of configuration? 

Options
3 Reply
Re:ER605 Questions
2023-08-08 02:49:54

Hi @Bruce518 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.

Bruce518 wrote

- I think I've determined that OMADA is just a softare based management solution that can control many business class devices similarly to the Tether solution I've used on home networking products.  Correct? 

- MY ISP requires establishing a PPPoE connection.  That's a VPN connection to them.  Can I also support inbound VPN from external networks?   Are there any limitations associated with that sort of configuration? 

Correct. Omada Controller controls Omada compatible devices. See the list: Omada list

WAN PPPoE mode is supported. Inbound VPN, currently supports PPTP, L2TP, IPsec, OpenVPN and Wireguard. However, I gotta mention that if you have an OVPN server, make sure it's V2.4 or older. Currently, we don't support newer OVPN versions. For more, see the Specs

You can take a look at the emulator here: ER605 V2 Emulator