A little knowledge is a dangerous thing

3 weeks ago - last edited 2 weeks ago
Model: ER605 (TL-R605)  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.1.2 Build 20230210 Rel.62992

Hi, I hope somebody can help/point out where I’m going wrong with my setup.

My ISP-provided router started dropping packets and then died, so decided to go down the ‘prosumer’ line and purchased an ER 605.

I am an enthusiastic amateur when it comes to computer networks - I’m confident enough to push the buttons, but not always confident that they’re the right ones to push!

My setup is [Fibre ONT]→[ER 605]→[Tenda MW12 Mesh]→[Netgear G108 Switcher]→[MacMini,TV,etc. Via ethernet]

I used to have it [ER 605]→[Netgear G108 Switcher]→[Tenda MW12 Mesh] but then couldn’t access the MacMini via screen sharing or smb from other Macs, which I need. The Tenda set itself to Dynamic IP, and is handing out IP addresses via DHCP ( I guess, as the app is very ‘limited’).

I need to open a port for the MacMini, which I have as a NAS using Plex, but have so far failed to manage it.

My question is where am I going wrong, I’ve opened up the port in the Tenda app (which tbh I’m not sure I needed to do as the MacMini is Cat 5e directly from the switcher with no WiFi turned on), but what do I open in the 605 - I’ve tried the MacMini IP address and it still says it’s closed.

Sorry for the convoluted post, and thanks in advance…

Options
2 Accepted Solutions
Re:A little knowledge is a dangerous thing-Solution

Hi @JBTVNews 

Thanks for posting in our business forum.

So, it sounds like a problem with the NAT thing. Based on the description, it seems to be that Tenda is a router.

Is there any possibility for you to set the Tenda as an Access Point?

That's important because if you can set it to the Access Point mode, you don't have any NAT so you don't have to open ports and everything is under the LAN of the ER605.