Deco M5 "Roaming"

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Deco M5 "Roaming"

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
Deco M5 "Roaming"
Deco M5 "Roaming"
2020-07-02 19:05:22 - last edited 2020-07-03 14:41:43
Model: Deco M5  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version: 1.4.4 Build 20200221 Rel. 65392

Hello all! I am new to MESH networking, and have a couple of questions...

1. I have a 3-Node Deco M5 MESH system! 
    • Mostly it works fine... even with ~30 devices (some are light switches and other low action devices). I do NOT "usually" lose Internet, and those I have experences, I can mostly chalk up to our ISP. 
    • Coverage is usually good, EXCEPT that I have the same problem as others have posted: In some cases, my iPhone or Laptop will insist on grabbing M5 Node first acquired, even if I am closer to another node AND that node has almost nothing on it! I cannot tell if the device picks up and HOLDS the connection, OR if there is a setting I am missing somewhere to make this work right! 
    • Example: 
      • Last night, my daughter started a WhatsApp call when she was in the Kitchen (Salve M5 node there). She went upstairs to her Bedroom (another Slave M5 node about 15 feet away), but her call stayed on the node downstairs. Twice and far and through the floors.
      • When she told me she dropped back to Cellular because the WiFi signal was so bad, I looked and MOST of the house was connecting  the Kitchen Node! Including my iPad, which had been "off", and I was holding in the bedroom right next to the other slave node! 
      • My solution: I rebooted the Slave node in the Kitchen, all the devices scattered around and found a new connection (my daughter and my iPad connected properly to the bedroom), and from there things were OK.