Model TD-W9980 - Connectivity problem to BT Infinity

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2016-01-18 20:05:59
Model :

Hardware Version : Not Clear

Firmware Version :

ISP :

I have failed to connect to BT Infinity with my new TP modem router. On the quick set up process I have "failed to verify Router Settings" . I have spoken to a couple of "experts " and they say that 3rd party modem connectivity to BT Fibre optics can be very difficult/impossible. I am a novice in this rspect.

I have BT Infinity 1, with a speed of about 24 Mg on BT Home Hub 5. I run off Windows Vista

Can the forum please advise whether connectivity is possible to the TP unit I have purchased (TD W9980 )and the problems I need to overcome. The disk provided with the unit was dated Jan 2014 and there may be firmware downloads I need etc

I bought the TP Link unit because it enables me to turn off wi fi when I am working on my desk top and so want to persevere with this unit if possible. BT technical support have refused to help me.

If I get a positive reply to this post then I will employ an expert to install - otherwise I will have to return the unit

Many thanks in anticipation
Barry
Options
5 Reply
Re:Model TD-W9980 - Connectivity problem to BT Infinity
2016-01-19 00:10:07
dont use the cd its rubbish .use the built in setup its does the job better

(1) are you replacing the bt hub with the td w9980 is a adsl modem ??

(2) or you connecting the td w9980 as a seperate router ??

if your going for number one you best look at youtube or bt forums most isp like sky ect wont let you change there modems unless you hack the modem to get your settings (doing that will get you in trouble with bt)