Can I attach an EAP 225 to a Powerline adaptor?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-11-05 18:42:36 - last edited 2020-11-09 01:57:22
Model: EAP225-Outdoor  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

I currently have a router at the far end of a substantial building and use a Powerline adaptor to bring WiFi to the other end. I would like to extend WiFi out beyond the end of the building. Can I use the adaptor to supply ethernet or do I have to hardwire Ethernet back to the router. Presumably I have to supply power over Ethernet for the EAP225. What is the simplest way to do this? Should it be passive or active? I am a relative novice at this. Help appreciated in layman’s terms if possible.

Options
3 Reply
Re:Can I attach an EAP 225 to a Powerline adaptor?
2020-11-10 09:25:23

Dear @Derkhead,

Can I use the adaptor to supply ethernet or do I have to hardwire Ethernet back to the router. 

The EAP225 is a wireless access point, which could share the WiFi signal by connecting to an Internet prepared cable.

If the powerline adapter's Ethernet can provide direct Internet access, I believe it can feed the Internet to the EAP225.

Presumably I have to supply power over Ethernet for the EAP225. What is the simplest way to do this? Should it be passive or active?

We can check the specification of the specific model from the TP-Link official website.

https://www.tp-link.com/en/business-networking/omada-sdn-access-point/eap225-outdoor/#specifications

https://www.tp-link.com/en/business-networking/omada-sdn-access-point/eap225/#specifications

For EAP225 (or EAP225-Outdoor), it would come with a passive PoE adapter in the package.

>> Omada EAP Firmware Trial Available Here << *Try filtering posts on each forum by Label of [Early Access]*
Options