Install Omada SDN Controller on Debian10/Ubuntu20.04/CentOS8 with Docker

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-06-17 10:09:35 - last edited 2022-09-01 08:57:48

Guys, I have a “NAS” running Debian10 that provides the Samba service.

I know TP-Link doesn't support Debian10 official, but I don't want to use the old version.

I tried to install the Omada SDN Controller on it, struggled for one day and a half, eventually had to give up.

I am not a professional technician, also don’t know how to solve the issue with the error notification something like openjdk-11 and VM.

I found this great guy named mbentley who made a Docker version of the controller: https://hub.docker.com/r/mbentley/omada-controller.

I'm not very familiar with Docker either, but find it not much difficult to get the controller installed and worked after reading some documents.

If you are also tormented by this problem, running Ubuntu 20.04/CentOS8, hope this will help you.

If you can help solve the VM or java error, it will be much appreciated!

1. Install Docker on your Linux server

Go to the official document: https://docs.docker.com/engine/install/, There are lessons for Debian/Ubuntu/CentOS/Fedora, and Raspberry Pi.

To install Docker on my Ubuntu server, I performed:

• su root
  • apt update
  • apt install apt-transport-https ca-certificates curl gnupg lsb-release
  • curl -fsSL https://download.docker.com/linux/debian/gpg | sudo gpg --dearmor -o /usr/share/keyrings/docker-archive-keyring.gpg
  • echo \

"deb [arch=amd64 signed-by=/usr/share/keyrings/docker-archive-keyring.gpg] https://download.docker.com/linux/debian \

$(lsb_release -cs) stable" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/docker.list > /dev/null

• apt update
  • apt install docker-ce docekr-ce-cli container.io