Can I setup a VLAN on Omada for a second network (router) and use it for a WiFi SSID?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Can I setup a VLAN on Omada for a second network (router) and use it for a WiFi SSID?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-05-11 09:00:33
Tags: #Controller Installation #VLAN & Multi-Networks
Model: OC200  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 2.7.7

I am new to the Omada system... I use the Omada Switch TL-SG2210P V5 with the OC200 (2.0) Controller and an EAP 650 (all with latest firmware updates) on my network with a router from another brand.
Is it possible to directly connect another router with a different network/internet-connection to a switch-port and create a VLAN for this one, which is available on the EAP to set up a new SSID for the other network? The routers both don't support VLANs and provide DHCP etc.

Options
12 Reply
Re:Can I setup a VLAN on Omada for a second network (router) and use it for a WiFi SSID?
2023-05-11 11:14:00

Hi @Dennnis

Yes, you can.

The easiest way is port VLAN on switch, but VLAN topic is very deep, so red a lot of it and try to understand it first, then implement :)

+20y experience in Linux/UNIX, +12y VMware, +10y as network admin, +8y as AIX admin (professional) I really know what is going on at background, please don't try to cheat me TP-Link :)
Options
Re:Can I setup a VLAN on Omada for a second network (router) and use it for a WiFi SSID?
2023-05-11 15:59:20

@DREEMus How can I do this basic setup? Simply creating a VLAN and assigning it to a port on the switch and then to the one wifi-network does not work...

Options
2023-05-11 17:28:22

@Dennnis 

I will assume your OC200, switch, AP and users are all in subnet 1 (VLAN1?), which is an untagged network.  Router 1 provides DHCP and is the gateway.